Information about the region

Information about the region

Zhambyl region (kaz. Zhambyl Oblysy (formerly known as the Dzhambul region) is a region located in the south of the Republic of Kazakhstan, formed by the Decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR on October 14, 1939 from parts of South Kazakhstan and Alma-Ata regions. On May 4, 1993, by the Decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Council of Kazakhstan, the name of the Dzhambul region in Russian was changed to the Zhambyl region. The region is named after Zhambyl Zhabayev (known in Russian as Dzhambul Dzhabayev, 1846-1945), a Kazakh and Soviet akyn poet, winner of the Stalin Prize of the second degree (1941).



144 264 sq. km.


Neighboring regions and countries:

  • in the north - Karaganda
  • in the east - Almaty
  • in the south - Kyrgyzstan
  • in the west - Turkestan


Climatic conditions

  • Sharply continental, arid temperate zone.
  • Cold long winter, hot short summer.


Geographical data

Zhambyl region is a unique base of phosphorite and fluorspar raw materials. The region is rich in non-ferrous metals, barite, coal, facing, ornamental and technical stones, construction materials.

The flora and fauna of the region is extensive and diverse. The flora of the region has more than 3 thousand species. The total area of hunting grounds is 13.9 thousand hectares, they are home to more than 40 species of animals.

The fisheries fund, covering an area of 27.8 thousand hectares, consists of 81 reservoirs, of which 59 reservoirs are suitable for fishing activities. Tasotkelskoye and Ters-Ashibulakskoye are distinguished from large reservoirs. The predominant commercial fish species are silver carp, white amur, carp, carp, walleye, bream, crab, roach.

About the Region

The administrative-territorial structure of the region includes 10 districts and 1 city of regional subordination:

  • Baizak district — Sarykemer village;
  • Zhambyl district — Asa village;
  • Zhualynsky district — the village of Bauyrzhan Momyshuly;
  • Kordaysky district — the village of Korday;
  • Merkensky district — the village of Merke;
  • Moyinkumsky district — the village of Moyinkum;
  • T. Ryskulov district — Kulan village;
  • Sarysu district — Zhanatas city;
  • Talas district — the city of Karatau;
  • Shusky district — the village of Tole Bi;
  • the city of Taraz.


Population 1214537

(to 1 September 2022, people)


GRP 103,1

(January-June 2022 to January-June 2021, %)


Inflation 15,8

(September 2022 per to September 2021, %)


Average monthly salary 215 285

(I quarter of 2021, tenge, estimate)


Unemployment rate 5,0

(II guarter 2022, %, estimated data)

*Excluding small businesses engaged in entrepreneurial activities.

Install the application:
1) Open the website in Safari
2) Click save
3) Add to home screen